Sponsored

Why no locking fuel fill door on the Bronco ???

Kevin Scarbel

Everglades
First Name
Kevin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2024 Bronco Everglades 4dr
Your Bronco Model
Everglades
My Hyundai Elantra GT (Golf-like hatchback) has a very inexpensive and simple "deadbolt" design locking system. Note it's a "no key" design. I appreciate being able to lock out thieves.
I don't appreciate Ford for not providing me with fuel fill door locking functionality on my $55k and $62k MY2024 Broncos.

This video introduces what I'm talking about. A truck engineer by trade, I know that cost is minimal.

Sponsored

Last edited:

BigFootie

Heritage
First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2013 ES-350, 2022 Badlands Sport, 2023 Heritage Ed
Your Bronco Model
Heritage
Clubs

Is gas theft still a thing? I thought we were way past 1974. I'm fine without it but then I'm not in a area known for that type of theft.

Last edited:

Rivers90

Base
First Name
Ben
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
xterra mx5
Your Bronco Model
Base
I bet Ford saw the Wrangler did not have a locking fuel door (no door at all on some trim levels ) so did not have one with no need to compete.

DUSTYcazOREGON

Black Diamond
First Name
Craig
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ranger Tremor/2022 Bronco/2006 Dodge Charger
Your Bronco Model
Black Diamond
Clubs

Is gas theft still a thing? I thought we were way past 1974. I'm fine with out it but then I'm not in a area known for that type of theft.
It is still a thing. My main concern would be vandalism and putting something in the tank. As gas prices go up...likely more theft too.

Sponsored

PrepVet

Big Bend
First Name
John
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
A bunch.
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend
Thieves drill holes in plastic tanks now. No worries of sparky sparky. They don't bother to siphon the old way. I'd be most worried about some prick adding something to my tank.
This. I have not heard of people still syphoning gas from the fuel door.