First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
22 Bronco Base
Your Bronco Model
Base
My 22 2.3L with just 10K miles suddenly died on my way home from work. I made a left turn at a stoplight and felt a momentary cut out in power. What was that? At the next stoplight I went to accelerate, and it died completely. I managed to coast through the intersection, but I was blocking traffic on a major city throughfare for two hours waiting for a tow. What a way to spend an evening! I called the dealership it was towed to and they said they might be able to look at it in two or three days. Like WTF should not something like this get some priority? I have been driving for 46 years, this is the first time ever a vehicle has left me stranded on the road. There were no codes or symptoms before this happened. My Bronco is 100% unmodified and has never been on a gravel road much less off roading (it’s a mall crawler!). I am so pissed right now I don’t know if I want to see the darn Bronco again. I’m very disappointed and frustrated with Ford, first for the breakdown at 10K miles which is totally unacceptable, and the dealers nonchalant attitude well get to it when we can.

Just got a call from the dealer, they said it is the fuel pump. He said they tried to get one locally but had to order and should be in on Monday (its Friday today). I'm retracting what I said about the dealer, that was in the heat of the moment when I was upset.

Got my Bronco back, all is well for now. I asked the service guy about the history of fuel pump fails and if Ford has made any corrective actions. All he said is we don't do very many and there are no TSBs on it.
Sponsored

Last edited:

projectbadlands

Badlands
First Name
Robert
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Colorado ZR2
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs